Laguna Honda Hospital celebrates excellence in nursing through the DAISY Award

The DAISY Award is an international program started in memory of J. Patrick Barnes. Pat’s family experienced first-hand the difference his nurses made through clinical excellence and outstanding care. The family created The DAISY Award to express gratitude to nurses and to enable others to thank their special nurses.

We will honor our first 2021 awardees during this year’s Nursing Week (May 10 - 16).

Show Your Gratitude and Submit a DAISY Award Nomination Today!
Nominations may be submitted through an electronic form. To nominate for our Nursing Week Awards, please submit by April 15, 2021.

DAISY Award Nomination Form

Submissions can also be emailed to Kathleen.MacKerrow@sfdph.org or mailed to Laguna Honda Hospital

Attn: DAISY Awards
375 Laguna Honda Blvd.
San Francisco, CA 94116

About the Laguna Honda DAISY Award

Who can nominate? Staff, residents, and resident families are encouraged to nominate.

What makes a strong nomination? Personal stories and examples of nurses demonstrating excellence.

How do we recognize award recipients? Awardees receive the beautiful, handmade “Healer’s Touch” statue and will be recognized through an award ceremony. Award recipients will also be celebrated through the DAISY Foundation and the Department of Public Health.

How is the recipient selected? All nominations will be reviewed by a multidisciplinary committee, which will select the award recipients.

Laguna Honda DAISY Award Categories

At Laguna Honda we will honor extraordinary nurses quarterly. We will also honor nurse leadership and a nursing team annually during Nursing Week.

1) Extraordinary Nurse Award – awarded quarterly to a Registered Nurse (RN) or Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN).

2) Extraordinary Caregiver Award – awarded quarterly to a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), Personal Care Assistant (PCA), or Home Health Aide (HHA).

3) Nurse Leader Award – awarded annually during Nursing Week to honor Nurse Managers, Directors and others who create an environment where compassionate care thrives.

4) Team Award – awarded annually during Nursing Week to honor collaboration by two or more people, led by a nurse.